Othello

April 16, 2008 at 12:12 pm (Uncategorized)

OTHELLO Act I Scene III (as read by postmidnight)

Her father loved me; oft invited me;
Still question’d me the story of my life,
From year to year, the battles, sieges, fortunes,
That I have passed.
I ran it through, even from my boyish days,
To the very moment that he bade me tell it;
Wherein I spake of most disastrous chances,
Of moving accidents by flood and field
Of hair-breadth scapes i’ the imminent deadly breach,
Of being taken by the insolent foe
And sold to slavery, of my redemption thence
And portance in my travels’ history:
Wherein of antres vast and deserts idle,
Rough quarries, rocks and hills whose heads touch heaven
It was my hint to speak, — such was the process;
And of the Cannibals that each other eat,
The Anthropophagi and men whose heads
Do grow beneath their shoulders. This to hear
Would Desdemona seriously incline:
But still the house-affairs would draw her thence:
Which ever as she could with haste dispatch,
She’ld come again, and with a greedy ear
Devour up my discourse: which I observing,
Took once a pliant hour, and found good means
To draw from her a prayer of earnest heart
That I would all my pilgrimage dilate,
Whereof by parcels she had something heard,
But not intentively: I did consent,
And often did beguile her of her tears,
When I did speak of some distressful stroke
That my youth suffer’d. My story being done,
She gave me for my pains a world of sighs:
She swore, in faith, twas strange, ’twas passing strange,
‘Twas pitiful, ’twas wondrous pitiful:
She wish’d she had not heard it, yet she wish’d
That heaven had made her such a man: she thank’d me,
And bade me, if I had a friend that loved her,
I should but teach him how to tell my story.
And that would woo her. Upon this hint I spake:
She loved me for the dangers I had pass’d,
And I loved her that she did pity them.
This only is the witchcraft I have used:
Here comes the lady; let her witness it.

postmidnight is a very disturbed young man. He believes his parents were an inkpen & a thesaurus. He often suffers from insomnia, convinced that his television is trying to kill him. He was last seen walking towards 95 south, mumbling that “The truth is out there.” This man is dangerous. Listen with caution. postmidnight is also one of the hottest young poets on the spoken word scene. He’s slammed & performed across the country, read his work on several radio stations, & done work with various non-profit organizations ranging from schools to soup kitchens. He’s the author of 2 screenplays, a stage play, & 6 chapbooks – Common Sense, Unconventional Criminal, Mentally Disturbed, Schizophonetic, Troubled Youth & Sex & Violence. postmidnight has also produced 3 spoken word cds – moonshower moods, Soap(EP), & Phoenix. Attempting to legitimize the vocation of “rock star poet,” he is currently recording with his band, Inside Job. He is also refining his oneman show – “Breathing Affirmations: Catharsis Postmidnight”. post has starred in a few short films, including The Victrola, Foul Play and Out of Bed. Most recently he has been hosting Late Night Series – Philly at Drexel University, Late Night Series – Jersey at Mercer County Community College, and working with the Princeton Rep Shakespeare Festival’s staged reading series, performing in the Olivier award winning play Blue/Orange.

Princeton Rep Shakespeare Festival/Shakespeare in the Square Shakespear-e-thon 2008
This year, Princeton Rep is pleased to present its annual Shakespear-e-thon as part of Princeton’s Communiversity Street Festival on Saturday, April 26th on the Palmer Square Green from 2:30 to 4:30 p.m.

2 Comments

  1. Ellen Foos said,

    you are a rock star, post!

  2. postmidnight « PPL’s Poetry Podcast Blog 2008 said,

    […] the vocation of “rock star poet,” he is currently recording with his band, Inside Job. Click here for further biographical […]

Leave a Reply

